Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

tyme
Community Lead

Experiences around Study and Mental Health: What have you learnt?

Developed on request, Welcome to this thread!

We're here to talk about issues around Study and Mental Health.

1) What have been your experiences?

2) How has your study and mental health influenced each other?

3) Do you have any tips and tools to share with the SANE Forums Community?

Screenshot 2024-03-22 at 8.57.07 PM.png

59 REPLIES 59

Re: Experiences around Study and Mental Health: What have you learnt?

I'll start off - just briefly (I will, no doubt, come up with a lot more later 🙂 )

I've studied A LOT. Through my intense mental health journey, I studied... can't say I did the best, but I was studying. 

Upon reflection, I've noticed that the first few things I studied was because I 'just did'. It wasn't actually a passion of mine. This ranged from medicine/law, chiropractics, medical science, early childhood education etc. 

Then, things took a turn and my MH became the focus. Upon navigating my mental health, my studies reflected my interests. I studied psychology, counselling, disability inclusion. I still remember sitting in an inpatient unit writing notes for my psych degree. 

Now, I'm in the middle of a research paper, looking at a particular psychotherapy.

Hence, without my MH experiences, I wouldn't be where I am today. 

I've certainly learnt a lot, and I've chosen to embrace my mental health to support the community. 

Lessons learnt? Everything happens for a purpose. We accept the things we cannot change in order to better ourselves.

Hoping to hear from others @PinkFlamingo @ENKELI @HelloKitty1981 @Oaktree @Birdofparadise8