Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Welcome & getting started

Zoe87
Casual Contributor

Severe Treatment resistant Agitated Depressinon

Hi. I'm Zoe. I used to be a Registered Nurse. I grew up on a farm. I have 2 adult children and 3 beautiful Grandchildren.

Been married to a wonderful man for nearly 35 years. We have stuck together through thick and thin on both sides. I have been his carer since a severe episode of treatment resistant Agitated Depression  about 16 years ago. It took 3 years then to get my Husband back: Over 100 ECT treatments,  various medication changes due to ineffectiveness.  Then they put him on a last resort,  old fashioned antidepressant. 

For the last 13 years he has been an extremely stable, very active man with a very dry sense of humour.

Last year there was a shortage of his medications, but I managed to maintain his supply by making many phonecalls and lots of running around. This year, in May, our Pharmacist notified us that his medication  had been discontinued. Whilst we still had a small supply, I endeavoured to get him a Psychiatrist appointment for guidance in coming off the drug. By the time we saw her in Mid June, I had already reduced him down to 2 tablets a day, just to get him through to the appointment. After a further week on 1 tablet a day, he needed to have a 2 week washout, before commencing another antidepressant. 

Within 36 hours of ceasing his Antidepressant,  his symptoms started reappearing, and within 3 days he was admitted to hospital.